Skip to content

I’m heading to the Philippines

Tuesday, July 6, 2010

Riders on a Philippine jeepney (photo by Kamoteus, click on pic to go to Flickr page).

So, as you may have noticed I’ve changed the header image of my blog (not unusual for me to do) but you may also have noticed that the title is different, it says “Baliksambayanan” which roughly means “Return to the Homeland.”  As I did with the Philippines last year and Ireland back in 2008 I will be “themeing” my header to match where I’m at (this time, again, the Philippines).

Also, the category for all of posts that I’ll be doing in the Philippines (not sure how often I’ll be able to update my blog there so I’ve scheduled some posts spread out over the upcoming weeks) will also be titled Baliksambayanan, just like I did last year.  So all ya gotta do is just click on the category and you can find all the posts I’ve done so far while I’ve been in the Philippines.

Where as last year I was flying solo and doing work with Kilusang Mayo Uno (KMU) and Kilusang Magbubukid ng Pilipinas (KMP) this year I will be traveling with four other folks: Toni, Faye, Darah, and Carlo.  And instead of focusing on peasants and workers we will be exposed to (and work with) the youth and student sector (mainly), the urban poor sector, and the indigenous sector.  We will also have a day with KMU and a few days with KMP.  The program is being coordinated by the national executive committee of the League of Filipino Students.

I’ll be leaving five days earlier than everyone else (on Wednesday night) in order to do some more union work (I am a union officer for the Teamsters, after all) with KMU and some local NGOs in Southern Tagalog.  I look forward to reporting to ya’ll out there in blog-o-land.

Comments are closed.

