Skip to content

Lakbayan 2009

Sunday, July 26, 2009
Lakbayan 2009 marchers at Mendiola, Manila (Photo by Jack Stephens)

Lakbayan 2009 marchers at Mendiola, Manila (Photo by Jack Stephens)

So on Friday I finished a four day march from Calamba, Southern Tagalog to Makiti City, Manila.  I have much to talk about on my experiences with the Lakbayan (People’s March, which is a seven day long hike) but I don’t have enough time as of now so I will leave you guys with a few points.  Hopefully after the State of the Nation protest on Monday I will have more time to update my blog with more posts.

  • I was with a contingent of PAMANTIK-KMU a union in Southern Tagalog affiliated with the KMU.  BAYAN-Southern Tagalog (BAYAN-ST) is one of the strongest chapters in BAYAN and I was able to see their strength in many ways during the march, especially from the warmth of the people who showed their support for the marchers.
    • During a jeepney ride toward Calamba I saw a lot of anti-government and pro-BAYAN graffiti on the walls and fences in the towns along the way.  One of them read, “Stop Political Killings – BAYAN-ST.”
    • On the march through Southern Tagalog many vendors would actually give away free food to the marchers, such as bananas and bread.  Also, local BAYAN-ST and Gabriella-ST organizations would post up along the march and either give support by cheering and waving banners or actually join up wiht the marchers.
  • The government has been very heavy handed in Southern Tagalog.  They have killed over 20 KMU members trying to organize at a Nestle plant and have put out arrest warrants for 70+ members of BAYAN-ST, causing those members to go into hiding.
  • And much much more, but I gotta go!

A mini-flag that opposses the CON-ASS bill.  Mendiola, Manila (Photo by Jack Stephens)

A mini-flag that opposses the CON-ASS bill. Mendiola, Manila (Photo by Jack Stephens)

Comments are closed.

