Skip to content

I’m Heading to the Philippines

Saturday, July 18, 2009

pagpupugay_kadan_big
In case you didn’t notice I have a new banner for my blog.  The title is “Baliksambayanan” which means “Return to the Homeland.”

For those of you who read this blog you might know that not only do I do work for my union, the Teamsters, I also organize with BAYAN-USA which is the U.S. branch of BAYAN, a large, multi-sectoral, leftist-progressive organization in the Philippines.

While I’m over in the Philippines (much like I did when I was in Ireland) I will try to update my blog as much as I can (if I can) with photos and stories of what I’m learning and experiencing while I’m over there.

When I was in Ireland I was visiting family but would comment on the news circulating through out the country and some of the politics that was going on over there, as well as my experiences with folks.  While in the Philippines I will be doing the same, but I will also be doing work with the Kilusang Mayo Uno labor center so I will be learning from some of the best union organizers in the world.  Not only will I be helping out (as much as I can) I will be learning about the political, economic, and humanitarian situation in the Philippines from workers and organizers from KMU.

If you want to learn some preliminary stuff about the Philippines and a little of its history and contemporary political situation check out the recent podcast by xMabaitx and I.

One Comment
  1. Saturday, July 18, 2009 6:17 pm

    thats exciting… i hope you have a safe flight and a good time there… I look forward to reading your posts about the Phillipines.

Comments are closed.

