Skip to content

links for 2009-04-03

Friday, April 3, 2009
  • With a map.

    "while most of us who want to celebrate the death of a two-state solution with this new regime we are facing, there are, unfortunately, the palestinian authority wish to continue to promote an ever-shrinking palestinian state…the map up above demonstrates just how little of the west bank would be a state in this so-called “solution.""

  • "Lisa hits upon an important problem with many online activist communities; her words, I think, have relevance for blogging feminists, progressives and race activists. Too often, I see self-described online activists spend their time in repetitive recriminations and reactionary ranting against an intangible — oftentimes anonymous – Oppressor (be they other bloggers or the omnipresent Man(tm)). A depressingly limited fraction of our time as cyber-talking heads is spent promoting real world and real life extensions of our blogging diatribes: how often do our online machinations transform into real life campaigns for change?"
  • "when I say shut up, I mean for you to stop being the loudest person in a room during a meeting or constantly focusing the spotlight on yourself during events. I mean for you to stop patronizing me by making a lame attempt at empathizing with my situation as a person of color. I mean for you to stop claiming that you are “not racist” or that you are somehow “different” from other white people, when in the confines of white supremacy you are still a whitey."
  • "I had the pleasure of seeing Dr. As’ad AbuKhalil, professor of Middle Eastern Studies at California State University Stanislaus and a visiting professor at UC Berkeley, of debating the Israeli Consul General of San Francisco (this will be the last time I call “that guy” by that title)…I mean, Mr. Fascist."
  • "My voice was back in full force and I could sing Fayruz at that point. There was a woman who came with the diplomat and she was sitting in the front raw and after two minutes of my talk, I could see her squirm and look with sympathy at her Israeli colleague. I could not read her face but felt that she was telling him that "we did not expect this would happen." But it happened, and As`ad was on a roll. I can't tell you how I did but I can tell you that I really enjoyed the task and would do it at the drop of a hat, and would waive my speaking fee for it. When I came to the US and I used to watch debates between Israeli and Arab speakers, and I always found myself being critical of style and substance. I had no excuse: when I am debating, I can say what I want. So I can do it my way, and I did it my way last night."
Comments are closed.

