Skip to content

Dr. AbuKhalil Debates Mr. Fascist

Thursday, April 2, 2009

Maybe calling him Mister is giving the Fascist too much respect.

I had the pleasure of seeing Dr. As’ad AbuKhalil, professor of Middle Eastern Studies at California State University Stanislaus and a visiting professor at UC Berkeley, debating the Israeli Consul General of San Francisco (this will be the last time I call “that guy” by that title)…I mean, Mr. Fascist.

I have many views about the debate and I will be blogging on AbuKhalil’s performance/debate over the next week as there are many aspects of the debate I want to comment on.  As one Arab student at University of San Francisco (whom AbuKhalil says is possibly the only Arab student at USF, which might not be far off the mark) stated, “As’ad masacured that guy.”

Here is what AbuKhalil said about the debate:

My voice was back in full force and I could sing Fayruz at that point. There was a woman who came with the diplomat and she was sitting in the front raw and after two minutes of my talk, I could see her squirm and look with sympathy at her Israeli colleague. I could not read her face but felt that she was telling him that “we did not expect this would happen.” But it happened, and As`ad was on a roll. I can’t tell you how I did but I can tell you that I really enjoyed the task and would do it at the drop of a hat, and would waive my speaking fee for it. When I came to the US and I used to watch debates between Israeli and Arab speakers, and I always found myself being critical of style and substance. I had no excuse: when I am debating, I can say what I want. So I can do it my way, and I did it my way last night.

I took notes of the debate,these aren’t comprehensive as I only took notes of what I fond interesting or ridiculous (take your pick).  Their debate…I mean, massacre, was videotaped and will provide you a link of it once I find one.

View this document on Scribd
8 Comments
  1. Friday, April 3, 2009 6:41 am

    The argument that it is “deeply racist” to reject the idea of an exclusively Jewish state is beyond ludicrous. This is like saying it is deeply racist to reject the inception of an “Aryan” state in Germany. The “Aryans” are an ancient people and culture and they deserve to have a state of their own. In addition, the notion of the Jewish state is even worse because it is created at the expense of the indigenous inhabitants. So what Mr. Fascist is saying is that they should have a right to expel and kill Palestinians in order to make way for an exclusively Jewish state and anyone who opposes them is a racist. The Palestinians should pay a price because the Jews don’t have a state of their own. What a bunch of nonsense.

  2. Friday, April 3, 2009 6:51 am

    Thanks for the great work in recording this event. Wish I had been there.
    Heartened that so many in audience seem to be awake/aware and have good BS dectectors.

  3. fatima permalink
    Friday, April 3, 2009 1:13 pm

    Thank you so much for your notes , that was brilliant and so thoughtful of you . I totally enjoyed that . wow . Please make sure you do it again , as im a fan of Assaad AbuKhalil .

  4. Zak permalink
    Saturday, April 4, 2009 6:21 am

    Thanks Jack,
    great notes

  5. Sunday, April 5, 2009 10:26 am

    Any idea when the video will be uploaded? Thanks for the notes and coverage.

Trackbacks

  1. links for 2009-04-03 « The Mustard Seed
  2. Top Posts « WordPress.com
  3. Video of AbuKhalil Taking on Mr. Fascist « The Mustard Seed

Comments are closed.

