Skip to content

Beware Nuclear Origami Mutha Fucka!!

Saturday, February 28, 2009

50 Megaton Paper Tiger

There is a great new blog out there in blog-o-land by one of my good friends and fellow organizers, xMabaitx (the Xs means he’s straight edge).  We also used to load trucks together at the graveyard shift at UPS, but he has since moved on and left me behind to joke on dust and diesel fumes.

The blog is called The 50 Megaton Paper Tiger.  One day when we were talking over dinner after work I mentioned how he should keep a blog and we were kinda bouncing names off each other and then at one point he mentioned Mao’s critique of imperialism being like a paper tiger and nuclear weapons, I suggested it would be a great name for a blog, then he came up with the name not to long after.

Paper tiger comes from a quote by Mao:

I have said that all the reputedly powerful reactionaries are merely paper tigers. The reason is that they are divorced from the people…U.S. imperialism has not yet been overthrown and it has the atom bomb. I believe it also will be overthrown. It, too, is a paper tiger.

Fifty megaton comes from the largest megaton nuclear bomb ever made:

The device offically designated RDS-220, known to its designers as Big Ivan, and nicknamed in the west Tsar Bomba (and referred to as the Big Bomb by Sakharov in his Memoirs

In a recent blog post xMabaitx blogs about race, racial identity, skin color, and Oscar Grant:

I have determined that my former desire to ”fit into” a certain racial or ethnic distinction has very little bearing on my own sense of personal self-worth.  The greater issue rather is how the white man’s ideas of race and ethnicity consequently force unwanted social meanings upon my body.

Comments are closed.

