Skip to content

Whtie Privilege on Exhibit

Friday, June 13, 2008

Cross-posted from The Blog and the Bullet.

JJKissinger blogs:

The past few weeks have been absolutely absorbed by an idea that I came up with…an idea I’ve kind of been avoiding, actually. The idea I had was to create an exhibit that would visually and interactively educate people about the idea of White Privilege. Not an easy topic…hence the idea avoidance. But one day, early this quarter, I asked my partner Susie what she thought of the idea. Without missing a beat, she said “let’s do it…we HAVE to do it.” So we did!

…The planning process was intense, thoughtful, fascinating, challenging, and extremely eye-opening. In order for true racial reconciliation to take place on this campus, our majority-white population MUST consider the implications of our whiteness.

[Hat Tip: practical blog]

One Comment
  1. abookwithoutacover permalink
    Saturday, June 14, 2008 5:07 am

    Now this is an idea! The impact of visuals can at times be much more impactful than words. Words can be limiting, they lose emotion.

    I’d love to discuss the exhibit as a traveling tour. Please write me when you can. I can see this opening up in a very powerful way!

    Paz,

    Adele

Comments are closed.

